top of page

Rollers finally finding some form

After finally breaking a seven-game losing streak last week, the Rollers delivered one of their most complete performances in some time in beating MLC by 94 runs on Sunday.

After some initial confusion as to who was captaining the side, Neville Cooper won a good toss at Durbanville and elected to bat.

The decision paid off handsomely as Ryan Cooper (18) and Andrew Young (20) put on a solid opening partnership against some tight bowling, before the big-hitting Marchell Hattingh came in and smashed boundary after boundary before retiring at 50.

But if MLC were hoping for some calm after the storm, they were in for a shock. Neville looked composed for his 27, before Michael van Dewenter – a ‘lighter’ man after a good Friday night – smashed two massive sixes in his brisk 24.

Simon Drennan went for 10, before James Lamprecht (24*) and Tom Stapylton-Smith (23*) put the icing on the cake with a 50-run-plus partnership, with the latter also clearing the ropes twice.

That set the hosts a very challenging 217 for victory, but they never came close. Tom (2/20) sent it through at a decent pace, while Mike (1/16) was swinging it huge for the second time in 24 hours.

James (1/34) also got amongst the wickets, but it was the spin twins of Marchelle (2/18) and Jarryd van Wyk (3/7) who wrapped up the game with five wickets between them – the latter a massive surprise, though not quite as surprising as the fact that the umpire didn’t question his ‘bowling’ (and I use this term very loosely) action.

MLC were eventually dismissed for 122, with Marchell unsurprisingly named Man of the Match for his all-round performance.

A big thanks to Sheldon, Gary and the guys for a great day out, and a game played in excellent spirit.


Batting Ryan Cooper  18 (1×4) Andrew Young  20 (1×6, 1×4) Marchell Hattingh  53* (2×6, 6×4) Neville Cooper  27 (2×4) Michael van Dewenter  24 (2×6) Simon Drennan  10 James Lamprecht  24* (3×4) Tom Stapylton-Smith  23* (2×6) TOTAL: 216/5 (35 overs)

Bowling Tom Stapylton-Smith  5-1-20-2 Michael van Dewenter  4-0-16-1 James Lamprecht  7-1-34-1 Ryan Cooper  4-0-8-0 Leon Theron  2-0-11-0 Marchell Hattingh  5-0-18-2 Jarryd van Wyk  3-1-7-3 Andrew Young  1-1-0-0

14 views0 comments


bottom of page